Anfield icons dominate the charity game

The Liverpool Legends team completed the double over the Manchester United Legends at Anfield in the second leg of the Legends of the North charity series.

Liverpool won 3-1 in the first meeting earlier this year, and Liverpool came from behind to secure a 2-1 victory this time around.

It was the United legends who dominated the game early on, taking the lead in just seven minutes, as Michael Carrick’s superb pass allowed Dimitar Berbatov to finish the game in stellar form, putting the Red Devils 1-0 ahead.

Despite it being a charity match, Liverpool didn’t bother falling short against United at Anfield and there were some clear shots in play by both teams.

Xabi Alonso did his best to raise the ceiling with a few attempts from range, but they failed to break through in the first half.

However, just two minutes into the second half, Liverpool leveled things up when substitute Mark Gonzalez, who scored twice in the last victory, hit the bottom corner.

That goal gave Liverpool confidence but United were still knocking on the door and Jerzy Dudek had to be on hand to keep the score level.

With 15 minutes left, United upped the ante by introducing Roy Keane and Dennis Irwin – to the inevitable chorus of boos from Anfield fans.

But it was Liverpool who responded and continued to advance through Florent Sinama-Pongol’s superb effort with eight minutes remaining.

Fraser Campbell netted the ball late in the game but was blocked by an offside flag, allowing Liverpool to claim the victory.

Liverpool Legends team

Starting from the eleventh: Jerzy Dudek, Bjorn Toure Kvarmi, Stefan Henchoz, Martin Skrtel, Gregory Vignal, Maxi Rodriguez, Momo Sissoko, Xabi Alonso, Stewart Downing, Anthony Le Taleck, Andre Voronin.
subsSander Westerfield, Fabio Aurelio, Djime Traore, Glenn Johnson, Salif Diao, Mark Gonzalez, Albert Riera, Luis Garcia, Robbie Keane, Florent Sinama Pongol.

Team Man Utd Legends

Starting from the eleventh: Raymond van der Goe, Ronnie Johnson, Jaap Stam, Danny Pugh, Antonio Valencia, Michael Carrick, Darren Fletcher, Daron Gibson, Dimitar Berbatov, Fraser Campbell, Karel Poporsky.
Subs: Kevin Pilkington, Dennis Irwin, Clayton Blackmore, Rhys Brown, Roy Keane, Eric Djemba Djemba.

Source link

Related Posts