F . directionsSeptember 23, 2022, 08:42:04 India Time
After sending an email, most email clients give you a short period of time during which you can choose to “unsend” your message and prevent it from reaching anyone else’s mailbox.
This feature is finally making its way to the iPhone’s default mail app after years of requests. With iOS 16, the Mail app receives a number of useful improvements. The option to cancel email delivery after pressing the send button is one of the new features. Mail will now give you a 10-second window after sending an email in which you can undo any errors.
In short, when you unsend an email, you put it back in a draft before it’s actually sent. This is very similar to using Gmail’s “Undo Send” feature to cancel a sent email. Only users using iOS 16 (or later), iPad OS 16 (or later), and Mac OS Monterey (or later) will have the opportunity to unsend emails. Notably, the type of device the recipient is on is irrelevant.
Steps to follow in order to “unsend” the sent email:
- Open the Mail app on your iPhone with iOS 16
- Take a quick look at the bottom of the screen after sending an email.
- Select Undo Send, which will only be available for 10 seconds after sending an email. The duration may vary depending on your internet connection.
- The email draft will appear again. Select “Cancel” in the upper left corner to prevent mail from being sent.
- The email will be saved in the Drafts folder and you can check this by checking the Sent folder.
By increasing the delay, you can have more time to change your decision and stop the email from reaching the recipient.
Steps to change the duration:
- Launch the Settings app on your iPhone.
- Scroll down and find the “Mail” option.
- At the bottom of the next window, click on the “Undo Send Delay” option.
- Options will be available to change the duration and you can choose between 10, 20 or 30 seconds.