Barcelona wins the Spanish League for the first time since 2019


Barcelona He won his first Spanish league title after leaving Lionel Messi With a score of 4-2 vs Espanyol Sunday.

Robert Lewandowski He scored two goals to lead the Catalan club to its first league title since 2019.

The title was secured with four rounds to go and two years after Messi left the club amid financial difficulties.

The title celebrations were short-lived, as the players had to rush into the locker rooms after a large group of Espanyol fans invaded the pitch from behind a goal and started running towards the Barcelona players who were singing and celebrating in the middle. . Security guards quickly intervened, but riot police had to stand in front of the tunnel entrance to prevent the crowd from entering.

Alejandro Balde And Jules Conde He also scored for Barcelona, ​​who now own 27 league titles, eight fewer than Real Madrid.

Victory over rivals Espanyol gave Barcelona an invincible 85 points from 34 matches, 14 more than Barcelona. Madridwhich won 1-0 in Getafe on saturday.

Barcelona have led since Matchday 13 and have the best defense in the league with 13 goals conceded – 15 more than any other club. It also has 25 clean sheets.

Barcelona won eight league titles in 11 seasons up to 2019, finished second to Madrid in 2020, and then third behind Madrid and the champions. Atletico – In 2021. It was second after Madrid last season.

Barcelona’s first title without Messi came in the Spanish Super Cup in January.

Reporting by The Associated Press.

He follows Follow your favorites to personalize your FOX Sports experience


Robert Lewandowski

Get more from Barcelona Follow your favorites to get information about games, news and more


Source link

Related Posts