Cameron Young made a simple error on the court Friday that will almost certainly keep him out of the PGA Championship.
Young, 14th at Oak Hill Country Club, was facing a nearly 60-foot putt in the second round of the second major of the season. He hit that birdie a few feet from the cup, then went to celebrate the ball – blocking both partner Tommy Fleetwood and Hideki Matsuyama.
Since his tag was still in the way, Young moved his tag one header to the side.
But when it was his turn to bat, Young forgot to move his mark to the original spot. This simple mistake resulted in a penalty kick.
“As a result, when he substituted and holed the ball, Young played from the wrong spot and incurred a general penalty (two strokes) for violating rule 15.3,” the PGA Championship Rules Committee said in a statement.
That suddenly turned Young’s equality into a double ghost. He made another three bogeys and another double bogey the rest of the way, making it a nine-bogey for the week. The expected cut was at 5 more when Young finished his tour. Although there was still a chance of sneaking into the weekend without penalty, the two extra strikes made it almost certain that his week in Rochester, New York, was over.
“We didn’t know it happened,” Fleetwood said. Via ESPN’s Mark Schlapach. “Honestly, I feel bad because I’m the one who asked him to move his pen, you’re in your own little world sometimes. I always said, ‘Move it back.'”
Fleetwood and Matsuyama both finished with a score of 1-over 71 on Friday, which brought both of them to 3-over for the week.
Young, 26, entered the week at number 15 in the Official World Golf Ranking, which is two places behind his career best. He has yet to win on the PGA Tour, but has been runner-up five times last season – including the British Open – and has three top-10 finishes this season. He went T7 in the Masters last month too.