Disclosure of the 2023 League Cup groups

The 2023 League Cup will see the participation of 15 groups football League And Liga MX Teams compete in a “World Cup-style” competition from July 21 to August 19.

For the first time ever, all teams from both leagues will compete in the month-long event.

Each group consists of three teams, and stands divided into four different regions: West (three groups), Central (four groups), South (four groups) and East (four groups). The MLS and Liga MX champions will not participate in the group stage and advance directly to the knockout round of 32.

According to league rules, the place of the top 15 MLS teams was determined by their matching region and their position in the 2022 Supporters’ Shield standings. Then, the Liga MX teams were seeded by the 2022 aggregate table, and placed into the groups through reverse order so that team no. 1 with the #15 MLS side.

The remaining MLS clubs were drawn into their respective region first and then organized into groups by their position in the Supporters’ Shield standings.

All clubs will play two matches each, with the group stage schedule to be decided at a later date.

The top 15 MLS teams included in the group stage will serve as hosts for the two matches to ensure that all 77 matches in the competition will be played in the United States of Canada. Three points will be awarded for victories in the group stage, and one point for each match that ends in a draw during regulation time. But every tie will be forced into a penalty shootout, with the winner earning an extra point.

Tie-breaking details of the group standings have not been revealed yet.

the West

West 1: Tigres UANL, Portland Timbers, San Jose Earthquakes

West 2: Monterrey, Real Salt Lake, Seattle Sounders FC

West 3: Los Angeles Galaxy, Club Leon, Vancouver Whitecaps


Central 1: America, Columbus Crew, St. Louis City

Central 2: Puebla, Minnesota United, Chicago Fire

Central 3: Chivas Guadalajara, FC Cincinnati, Sporting Kansas City

Central 4: Nashville SC, Toluca, Colorado Rapids


South 1: Austin FC, Mazatlan FC, FC Juarez

South 2: Santos Laguna, Orlando City, Houston Dynamo

South 3: Cruz Azul, Inter Miami, Atlanta United

South 4: FC Dallas, Necaxa, Charlotte


East 1: Philadelphia Union, Club Tijuana, Queretaro

East 2: CF Montreal, Pumas, DC United

East 3: New York City FC, Atlas, Toronto FC

East 4: New York Red Bulls, Atletico de San Luis, New England Revolution

Source link

Related Posts